Adobe Connect Authentication

Summary

Adding existing Adobe Connect users to the Refined Training platform

Adding existing Adobe Connect administrators to the Refined Training platform

Adobe Connect as the master source

PDF download

 

Summary


The Adobe Connect Authentication is used to match user records on the Refined Training platform to user records in Adobe Connect (and vice versa). This is done to provide users seamless access to all features of the LMS that are integrated with Adobe Connect without the user needing to log into both platforms separately.

 

The authentication also ensures that users created in the LMS or in Adobe Connect are not duplicated on either platform, and that a user’s username and password are handled by one master platform so that login credentials are not confused or reset incorrectly.

 

Adding existing Adobe Connect users to the Refined Training platform


The Adobe Connect Authentication method is designed to add existing Adobe Connect users to the Refined Training platform when they log in for the first time using their Adobe Connect credentials.

 

Once users are added as authenticated users to the Refined Training platform, the platform then becomes the master of the user’s login credential information. From that point on, when a user logs onto the Refined Training platform, the authentication of the user occurs on the Refined Training platform and the user’s credentials do not look to Adobe Connect for verification.

 

Clients who have an existing instance of Adobe Connect with a database of users can use the Adobe Connect Authentication to avoid having to re-create their existing users and avoid potentially disassociating any history information.

 

To access the authentication, navigate to Site Administration >>>> Plugins >>>> Authentication >>>> Manage authentication and click on the closed eye icon next to Adobe Connect to enable the authentication method. This will cause Adobe Connect to appear in the list of authentication methods enabled for the LMS.

 

With the authentication method enabled, existing users in Adobe Connect have the ability to sign in directly to the LMS using their Adobe Connect username and password.

 

The first time a user signs in to the LMS with their Adobe Connect information, an account will be created for them pulling all their account information from Adobe Connect.

 

Adding existing Adobe Connect administrators to the Refined Training platform


Existing Adobe Connect administrators can also be created as LMS administrators with the authentication so that when an administrator logs onto the LMS, they can use their Adobe Connect login credentials.

 

To enable this option, navigate to Site Administration >>>> Plugins >>>> Authentication >>>> Adobe Connect and set Add Admins to Yes.

 

Once these settings are made, the LMS is the master platform. Moodle will overwrite any changes made in user records on Adobe Connect in the User Administration tab. As records are changed or deleted in the LMS, the matching Adobe Connect records are updated. Deleting a user’s record in Adobe Connect will generate errors if the user attempts to log in from Moodle.

 

Due to the requirement that all records remain synchronized between the two systems, it is important that users are not added, edited or deleted on the Adobe Connect platform through the User Administration tab.

 


RT TIP -  Refined Data Solutions strongly recommends that users no longer log into Adobe Connect directly, but log into the LMS to access meetings (or use the meeting links in reminder messages). Administrators should log into the LMS and launch Adobe Connect from the Launch Adobe Connect option in the Refined Tools block.

 

Adobe Connect as the master source


The Adobe Connect Authentication method provides an option to always refer to Adobe Connect as the master for the users’ credential information.

 

New users who have an account on Adobe Connect will be able to log into the Refined Training platform and create a new account.  When this account is created, the authentication method associated with that user’s profile is the Adobe Connect authentication method. Setting Adobe Connect to be the master of users’ information with this authentication method, means the user will always use their Adobe Connect credentials to login.

 

This authentication option works when:

  • A new user's account on Adobe Connect is created on the LMS
  • The Adobe Connect authentication is enabled as the authentication method in the user's profile

 

This means that users will always use their Adobe Connect credentials to access the LMS. To access this setting navigate to Site administration >>>> Plugins >>>> Authentication >>>> Adobe Connect >>>> select Yes to make Adobe Connect the master of information so that the system will always refer to the Adobe Connect credentials for login.

 

Please note that for already existing users whose login credentials are managed by the LMS that if the authentication method is changed to make Adobe Connect the master, the user will most likely not know their Adobe Connect login credentials. To notify users of the update in their login credentials, send a reset password notification from Adobe Connect to the user. Do not send the temporary password notification, as this will not provide the system with the appropriate information to manage the user's credentials.

 

Interested? Click here to request more information.

 

PDF download


Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.