Refined Data Solutions' Auto Archive feature for Adobe Connect meetings automates the process of moving completed Adobe Connect meeting recordings from the meeting room folder to a designated content folder in the content library while retaining the permissions associated with the meeting room.
Completed meetings (meetings that have ended, with no participants in the meeting room and the recording has been stopped), are moved to the content library in a folder structure mirroring the meeting folder structure. This automated task is performed about every three hours.
All recordings are moved to the content library for better content management and to ensure that recordings are not deleted. Each recording becomes its own piece of content in the content library instead of being listed in the meeting room folder. Additionally, if the meeting room is deleted and the recording is not moved to the content library, the recordings are deleted as well.
Adobe Connect provides native editing features for recordings. Recordings can be edited when listed as a meeting in the meetings tab or as content in the content tab of Adobe Connect. Clients do not need to make the appropriate edits before moving the recording to the content library. The same editing abilities are available when a recording resides in the meeting tab or the content tab.
To learn more about Adobe Connect’s native editing features, click here.
The Auto Archive feature is set up in the client’s Adobe Connect account by Refined Data Solutions and requires a username and password from Refined Data Solutions. The Auto Archive script looks for the client’s Adobe Connect account and verifies the username and password, and the number of days a user has access to a recording, while also duplicating the folder structure.
Duplicated folder structure
The folder structure for organizing meetings under the meeting tab in the Adobe Connect account is duplicated under the content tab by the Auto Archive feature.
This previously manual process is completely automated by using the SCO ID number. The SCO ID number is located in the URL of the top level meeting room folder and the top level content folder. The auto archive script uses the SCO ID number to copy the folder structure used by the top level meeting folder and replicate it under the content folder.
In Adobe Connect, an administrator has access to assign users to permission groups called administrative groups. When users are added to a meeting, those users are placed in an administrative group and given an Adobe Connect role. When the meeting is converted into a recording, the administrative group(s) follows the recording content. Users with the role of ‘host’ can manage the content; users with the role of ‘presenter’ can view the original or edited versions of the recording; and users with the role of ‘participant’ can view the recording.
When the Auto Archive feature moves the recorded Adobe Connect meeting to the content folder, the time at which the recording is started is the time reflected in the recording. Therefore, if the recording is started before the designated meeting time and date, the recording will reflect the start time of the recording, and not the start time associated with the meeting.
- For example, if a meeting is scheduled to begin at 4:00 p.m. GMT, but the host begins the recording at 3:55 p.m. GMT, the recording will reflect the meeting starting five minutes prior to the scheduled meeting time of 4:00 p.m. GMT.
If users are not in the same time zone, Adobe Connect adjusts the time to reflect the time zone associated with the user.
- For example, if the host has an associated time zone of GMT and a user has the associated time zone of GMT-4, the host will see the meeting at GMT and the user will see the meeting four hours earlier.
In the event that a meeting recording has the same name as an already existing recording, the system will assign a number to the end of the recording name when that recording is moved to the content library. The system will start the suffix with a “0” and count numerically upward.
In the event that a meeting recording is manually given a title that already exists (i.e. the Adobe Connect account administrator renames a recording with a name already used), a number will be added to the end of the recording name.
When using the Auto Archive feature, some additional information should be noted:
- Typically recordings should be longer than five minutes in length. But this is a variable that can be defined per client. Please contact email@example.com if you wish to adjust this.
- Permissions for users to the content folder can expire after a given amount of time (i.e. the user is provided with 90-day or 120-day access). This is done at the database level and is set by Refined Data Solutions. Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org to define a time period.
- Guests do not have access to the recordings unless the content is made public. If the content is not public, only registered users may access it.
- For the Auto Archive script to function, an account must be created in the client’s Adobe Connect site. This account is required for the script to run properly. Changing the password or removing the account will result in a failed script run.