Console viewport sorting and starting a Vantage Point session

Click the video below to learn how to sort the viewport in the console and start a Vantage Point session. Or read the documentation.

 << See all training videos

 

Console viewport sorting and starting a Vantage Point session


The host can control the number of participant viewports that can be seen simultaneously by selecting the screen size icons and using the arrow buttons to flip among console pages.

 

The screen view can be adjusted by the square icons located at the top of the console. The video window by default displays in the medium viewport size and fills the screen with as many viewports as will fit. This can be adjusted further by resizing the browser window.

 

The default view reveals hosts and presenters first and then participants sorted alphabetically by full name. Any participant added after the Vantage Point session has begun gets added to the end of the viewport list. When this happens and the list is no longer in alphabetical order use the A-Z button to manually resort the participants to alphabetical order.

 

The host can use the arrow buttons to switch among the console pages or have the option to have the system switch among the pages at a set interval.

 

By default the interval is set to 15 seconds. This time can be changed by accessing the pod settings and under the session settings tab selecting the number of seconds for auto rotation.

 

When there are large numbers of participants in a meeting room, use the Show All drop down menu to filter participant viewports by different meeting roles. The host can choose to show all participants in a meeting room, including the hosts and presenters, or can choose to show only presenters and participants or only participants.

 

By default all hosts and presenters display first. This can be adjusted for your needs in the setting menu within the session settings for the sort order view.

The host can pin a participant’s viewport to the front of the console. This is similar to the idea of asking a participant to sit at the front of the room in a live classroom setting. When a host pins a participant, their viewport is listed before hosts and presenters and takes precedent, even when switching among viewport pages. A host may notice a missing participant and choose to pin their viewport until the participant returns.

 

Users who access the meeting room via a mobile device are revealed in Vantage Point. The host does not have the ability to control their interaction, but is aware of how that user is accessing the meeting room. Future releases of Vantage Point may provide additional control over mobile users when Adobe provides the additional support. This includes details like obtaining information about the participant’s virtual environment.

 

To start the Vantage Point session click the power button on the Vantage Point menu bar. The power button reveals the actual lifetime that Vantage Point has been running and is where to start, pause, and stop each session. Each session is independent which allows multiple Vantage Point sessions to occur in one Adobe Connect meeting.

 

When the pause button is selected, four actions within the meeting room are paused:

1). The first action pauses every participant camera and displays a pause icon in each viewport.  

2). The second action pauses the Vantage Point  timer.

3). The third action stops challenges from being issued.

4). And the fourth action pauses the recording of the meeting room.

When the session is resumed, the recording will restart, participants webcams will be accessed, and the challenges will recommence.

There are three different viewport icons that can display when a Vantage Point session is started.

The Padlock icon means the participant has not granted access to flash. This icon shows to the host in the Vantage Point console and to the participant in the meeting menu bar. When a participant has denied access to flash, the host cannot see any camera devices in the Vantage Point console, even if the participant desires the host to see them. To resolve this issue direct the participant to open the Vantage Point button in their Adobe Connect meeting menu bar. The participant can select allow my webcam which will automatically pop up the Adobe Connect flash access request.

The “X” icon means the user does not have a webcam available

The no entry icon appears when the participant has not yet granted access to the camera

As the Vantage Point session begins and participants grant access to their webcams, the host and presenter have the ability to view all participants in the Vantage Point console.

 

PDF download


Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.