Calling on participants

Click the video below to discover how to call on participants in the Vantage Point pod console or read the documentation.

 << See all training videos

 

Calling on participants


The interactive capabilities provided by Vantage Point between a presenter and participant, and among other participants in a meeting room, are simple and elegant within the Vantage Point console.

 

Calling on a participant so that other participants within the meeting room can see and hear them is as simple as one click.

 

When the presenter would like to facilitate discussion between themselves and a participant or among several participants, the host clicks a participant’s viewport. By doing so the selected participant’s webcam is turned on and their microphone is enabled. A webcam icon appears over the participant’s viewport. All other participants in the meeting room can see and hear the selected participant.

 

When the interaction is complete, the host clicks the participant’s viewport again to turn off the participant’s webcam displaying inside the meeting room and mute the participant’s microphone.

 

There are three activate audio with classroom webcam sync options in the pod session settings to help customize the participant interaction.

 

1). No: This option is used if the host does not want to link the participant’s camera and microphone in any way. Activating a camera will not affect the participant’s audio and either the participant or the host will have to activate the audio separately from the camera.

 

2). Activate Audio: In this mode, turning on a participant’s camera will cause the participant to appear to other participants, and will also activate their audio. If their microphone is muted, it will be unmuted. If their microphone is not connected, their VOIP will be activated using whatever appears to be the default or previously selected audio device.

 

However, when the participant camera is turned off, the audio will not be deactivated. This is called one-way mode. This is done so that a student can still contribute after their camera is disabled and they can activate their microphone at will. It is left to the Host to disable the microphones as appropriate. This is good in smaller spontaneous groups. It mostly ensures that when the camera is on, the host doesn’t need to activate the audio as a separate function. One click is all it takes.

 

3). Sync audio: In this mode, the microphone cannot be turned on unless the camera is also on. When the camera is off, the microphone is forced off (even if the participant has theoretical microphone rights). Think of this as Speak only when Called On mode. It works well in large groups where the host wants the participants to raise a hand and only speak when and if their camera is activated by the Host. Participants are prevented from speaking unless they are have been requested to do so by the Host.

 

As a general rule we strongly advise not inviting everyone to turn on their microphones at one time in a large group or granting webcam rights. Granting webcam rights typically encourages participants to start their webcams and cause interruptions during the meeting. Granting microphone rights places heavy demand on the user computers and the Adobe servers and will result in a lot of additional CPU load for echo cancellation which is only moderately successful with multiple microphones and audio loops. It's best to call on users individually or in small groups using the Activate or Sync mode or to prevent users from speaking by not granting microphone rights for everyone.

 

PDF download


 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.