rPhone pod breakout rooms and audio channels

Table of contents

Using the rPhone in breakout rooms

Audio channels

One way glass

Waiting room

PDF download

 

Using the rPhone in breakout rooms


When using breakout rooms, it is important to understand that breakout rooms are, in essence, additional layouts that allow groups of participants to work together. This is similar to the idea of prepare mode, but for participants.

 

The first time a breakout room is used, it becomes a duplicate of the layout before the breakout was initiated by the host. Because of this, each breakout room contains a different copy of the rPhone pod that needs to be deleted. To delete the extra rPhone pods navigate to pods in the meeting menu bar >>>> manage pods.

 

The master copy of the rPhone pod will need to be reactivated inside each breakout room. Refined Data Solutions recommends setting the rPhone pod up in breakout rooms in a meeting room template so that all rooms created from the template will inherit this fix.

 

Audio channels


An audio channel allows the host to group participants together into audio groups for discussion. Participants in an audio channel cannot hear the main presentation, but can hear each other. Audio channels are great when the host would like to break up the main meeting into smaller groups to allow participants to work together.

 

 

To access the audio channels, select the squares icon at the bottom of the pod.

 

The rPhone supports nine channels that can be individually named and made available to hosts and presenters. After naming the audio channels, click save.  

 

There are three options to add participants to an audio channel:

 

1). The host can add a participant to an audio channel when dialing out to the participant’s phone. To do this, select the telephone icon at the top of the rPhone window.

 

 

Clicking this icon displays a screen where the host can select an attendee and their country, input a phone number, specifically add the participant to an audio channel from the select an audio channel drop down menu, and call the participant directly. The participant only needs to wait for their phone to ring and to answer it. When the participant connects to the audio conference, they will be placed in the selected audio channel.

 

2). The host can add the participant to the audio channel by clicking the box/arrow icon next to the participant’s name and selecting the appropriate audio channel. This places the participant into the designated audio channel immediately.



 

3). The host can make selected audio channel(s) visible to participants by navigating to the audio channel creation screen and clicking the x icon next to a selected room. This changes the x icon to a check mark icon.

 

Participants will see those checkmarked channels in the rPhone drop down menu in the Adobe Connect meeting menu bar, and can move themselves into that audio channel.



 

One way glass


One way glass is a private audio channel where participants can hear what is being said in the main conference, but participants in the main conference cannot hear what’s being said by those behind the one way glass. Channel 8 is reserved for one way glass.

 

Participants in channel 8 will hear the main meeting audio lower when they are speaking with each other. When participants stop speaking with each other behind one way glass, the main audio returns to its normal volume. This only affects participants behind one way glass. Participants in the main meeting conference are not affected.

 

Waiting room


Channel 9 is reserved for the waiting room. The waiting room feature works in conjunction with ZipDX so that attendees initially joining the call are placed in the waiting room until the official start of the call by the host. While participants are in the waiting room, they can be automatically muted and can hear a pre-recorded message or music until they join the main conference. The waiting room is a great tool when hosts and presenters need extra time to prepare or can play an audio advertisement.

 

 

Only hosts can move participants out of the waiting room by selecting Channel:0 Main Conference by the participants’ names or by selecting the all button in the waiting room channel and choosing a new channel into which to send participants.

 

PDF download


Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.