rPhone pod tools

rPhone pod tools


The rPhone pod provides a number of tools the host can use to manage each participant’s audio connection as well as view information about each connection.

 

Clicking the rPhone button in the Adobe Connect meeting menu bar expands the pod inside the meeting room. Each participant in the meeting room is listed in the pod along with an icon displaying how the participant is connected to the audio conference indicated by either a telephone icon or a microphone icon (indicating a VOIP connection).

 

 


RT TIP - When expanding the rPhone pod you can lose access to part of your meeting room layout. We recommend that you open the Presenter only area from the Meeting tab and then adjust the area to match the size of the rPhone pod when opened.

 

If a participant is having trouble connecting to the audio conference, the host can connect a participant’s VOIP by clicking Connect VOIP by hovering the mouse over the participant name. Or the host can reveal the audio connection options by clicking Show Connect to Audio Options. This is incredibly helpful when providing technical support.

 

The host also has the ability to dial out to participants or provide the dial-in information to participants by clicking the telephone icon in the rPhone window.

 

 

Clicking this icon displays a screen where the host can select an attendee and their country, input a phone number, and call the participant directly. The participant only needs to wait for their phone to ring and answer it.

 

When calling a participant, a ringing phone can be heard in the meeting room. To avoid this, the host can call the participant into an audio channel before moving them into the main conference. Learn more about audio channels.

 

Additional management options are available to the host by hovering over a participant’s name. These options include:

  • the ability to disconnect the participant
  • the ability to call on the participant
  • the ability to hard or soft mute the participant
  • the ability to control the participant’s speaking volume

 

Disconnect - When clicking the disconnect button, the audio for the selected participant will end and the participant’s connection to the audio conference will be discontinued. The participant will not be able to verbally communicate with others in the meeting room.

 

Call On - The call on option enables the participant’s audio and notifies the participant they have been called upon. The participant can be heard by all other participants in the meeting room. If using the Hands Up pod in the same meeting room as the rPhone pod, the call on feature will also lower the hand raise for the called upon participant. This is similar to calling on a student in a classroom setting and asking them to speak to the entire class.

 

Soft mute - by selecting the soft mute option, the host has muted the participant’s line, but the participant can unmute themselves by clicking the phone icon in the menu bar or by using *6 to mute and unmute their telephone line. When using soft mute, the host cannot stop the participant from unmuting themselves. When the soft mute is enabled, a red line appears over the phone icon next to the participant’s name.

 

A soft mute is great in smaller meetings where the host may want to encourage participant interaction during the presentation. The soft mute ensures that no extraneous noise distracts from the presentation, while also allowing participants to verbally engage in the meeting.

 

Hard mute - mutes a participant’s telephone line and disables the ability for the participant to unmute themselves. When using hard mute a padlock icon appears over the phone icon. Only the host can control the un-muting for participants. Hard mute is great in large meetings where the host would like the participants to only listen and only have the ability to speak if they are called upon.

 

Mute all - by clicking the phone icon at the bottom of the pod window, all participants in the meeting room, except for those in the role of host, are soft muted. The host can choose to unmute participants individually or participants can unmute themselves. 

 


RT TIP - Participants on the phone hear a message notifying them when their lines are muted or unmuted. When the line is unmuted, and a participant is speaking, a small green speech bubble appears next to each participant’s name. This provides a visual cue for who is talking and is helpful in identifying which audio connection is causing noise.

 

Audio volume - Participants have the ability to adjust their own speaking level/volume in the Adobe Connect meeting menu bar by navigating to Meeting >>>> Audio setup wizard options. However, typically participants don’t always know how to adjust their own volume, which can cause frustration in the meeting room when a participant cannot be heard clearly and they don’t know how to correct it.

 

The rPhone pod provides a simple interface for the host to control a participant’s speaking volume by clicking on a participant’s name and selecting an audio level from the range of numbers displayed.




Occasionally a participant who dials into the audio conference doesn’t provide the unique ID code to identify themselves inside the meeting room. Therefore, the participant may appear twice in the rPhone list of attendees: once as an audio connection identity and once as a meeting room participant identity. When multiple identities are listed, it is hard to identify who is speaking and manage a participant’s audio connection.

 

The rPhone solves this problem by providing the ability to merge and unmerge the participant’s audio connection with the participant’s meeting room connection by clicking the person/arrow icon.

 

 

To merge a participant’s audio connection to a meeting room participant’s identity, select merge caller with an attendee and choose from the list of participants whose audio and meeting room identity to associate together.


 

To unmerge a caller, click the unmerge caller button and the participant’s audio and meeting room connections will be disassociated from each other. The participant will appear in the rPhone list of attendees two times: once for the audio connection and once for their connection as a participant in the meeting room.

 

 

There are several reasons it is recommended to merge the caller with the participant in the meeting room:

 

1). When the users are merged, there are less identities to manage in the rPhone pod.

 

2). Each user can be identified independently if there are multiple users from the same organization in a meeting room.

 

3). When a user enters a meeting room by default, until the user dials in on the telephone, the audio is connected via computer speakers. When the user dials in and identifies themselves, the rPhone pod will automatically turn off the audio on the user’s computer speakers so a duplicated audio track does not sound through the phone line and computer speakers.

 

If a meeting room participant is unmerged with their audio identity, the identity code appears next to the user’s meeting room icon in the rPhone window, and displays as *XXX# (where the X represents the unique ID code of numbers). The host can click on this code and a pop up message will display to the user asking them to enter the code to identify themselves.

 

 

The identity code can also be revealed to all attendees in the meeting room by clicking the gear icon at the bottom of the display and selecting show merge code to all attendees.

 

PDF download


Have more questions? Submit a request

1 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.