Vantage Point pod settings

Click the video below to learn about the Vantage Point pod settings or read the documentation.

 << See all training videos

 

Vantage Point pod settings


The Vantage Point pod has four settings menus accessed from the pod menu bar by clicking the gear icon. These menus include session settings, Adobe Connect settings, advanced settings, and HD video settings. All settings can be set as a default within your Vantage Point account.

 

Session settings


Session settings affect each individual session of Vantage Point.

 

 

Activate audio with classroom webcam turns on an attendee’s VOIP in conjunction with their webcam. There are three audio sync options available.

  • No is used if the host does not want to link the participant’s camera and microphone in any way.
  • Activate Audio turns on a participant’s camera and activates their audio. When the participant camera is turned off, the audio remains activated.
  • Sync audio is when the microphone cannot be turned on unless the camera is also on.

 

Show who’s talking reveals which participant is talking on VOIP or telephony by outlining their viewport in the Vantage Point console with a blue flashing outline.

 

Sort-order view is where meeting hosts can choose to display hosts and presenter viewports first in the Vantage Point console as opposed to having hosts and presenters sorted with the rest of the audience.

 

Auto rotate videos sets the number of seconds the system remains on a page of participant viewports before switching to the next page.

 

Question bar enabled allows the host to display or hide the question bar. The host may want to hide the question bar in particularly large meetings to make more space for participant viewports.

 

Challenge sound enabled adds an audio cue to the pop-up challenge when it is displayed to a participant.

 

Question timeout is where to set the number of seconds the pop-up challenge remains on the screen for the participant to answer before it disappears.

 

Attendance alert shows an alert in the form of an exclamation mark on the participant’s viewport for those who are not meeting the threshold for responses to the challenges issued. Use the arrow buttons to set the threshold here.

 

Adobe Connect settings


Adobe Connect settings pertain to the actions of the participants.

 

Auto stepped away-no webcam movement sets a participant's status to stepped away with a line icon when no moment has been detected on their webcam after 30 seconds.

 

Auto stepped away - focus out sets participates status to stepped away with a line icon when another window comes into focus or the meeting room window is minimized.

 

Auto stepped away - window too small sets a participant’s status to stepped away when the meeting window is resized to less than 25% of the screen size.

 

These three settings are incredibly helpful in gauging the attentiveness of your audience.

 

Auto pin stepped away automatically pins a participant’s viewport in the Vantage Point console when the participant’s status is set to stepped away. This setting can be configured to pin the participant’s viewport after the participant has been away for a certain time period.

 

Auto pin hand raised automatically pins a participant’s video in the Vantage Point console when their hand is raised. This ensures that a participant with a question is not missed. If an instructor is only interested in those participants who are asking questions, the host can filter the participant viewports to display only participants and then set the auto pin hand raised to yes.

 

Auto record automatically starts a recording in a meeting room during a Vantage Point setting when set to yes. Any future sessions in the same meeting room will also be recorded. When the Vantage Point session is paused, the recording will also pause.

 

Advanced settings


Advanced settings control all imagery and text for the pop up message that displays to participants when a Vantage Point session is started. Each individual meeting can have customized text, or a default can be set for the entire account by contacting support@refineddata.com.

 

The first option is deciding to display the welcome pop up message. If selecting no, then none of the other settings in the menu are applicable. We do encourage displaying a welcome pop up message for several reasons:

 

1). It’s a great way to welcome participants to your event.

 

2). If wanting to view participants’ webcams, the message makes this clear.

However, if the host does not need to see participants’ webcams and only wants to control other features like participants’ microphones then the pop up message is not needed.

 

3). By displaying the pop-up message, the host is providing a way for participants to opt out of challenges.

 

Any settings set in this menu will be remembered by the pod in the same meeting room. Otherwise the pod settings default to the default settings.

 

The title is the text that appears at the top of the pop-up message.

 

Image URL  is the URL of the image that displays inside the pop-up message. The image needs to include the space for the text and be properly configured to fit the size of the pop-up message. The size is 700 pixels by 480 pixels and the image URL should be accessible on the internet. Refined Data Solutions can also host a photo if requested or the photo can be hosted in your Adobe Connect account. If doing this, please ensure that the URL is made public.

 

Description appears on the pop-up message above the image and can be used to provide a description of the event or directions for your participants.

 

Warning user without camera is the message displayed to the participant if they don’t have a webcam, as they won’t be able to grant permission to their device if it is not available. This warning displays below the image.

 

Checkmark for camera is the checkmark the participant must click to grant permission to the camera. If this setting is set to no, the host will not be able to remotely control the participant’s cameras or see them inside the Vantage Point console. Generally speaking, this setting should be set to yes.

 

Check mark for tracker is where the participant has the option to opt out of tracking and appears below the pop-up message image.

 

Small note message provides space for an additional communication appearing below the image.

 

The button label is the text that appears on the button below the image of the pop-up message.   



HD settings


The HD settings allow you to customize the HD experience.

 

Resolution sets the webcam width and height in pixels

 

Max bandwidth sets the maximum amount of bandwidth the current outgoing video feed can use.

 

Frames per second set the rate at which the imaging device produces unique, consecutive images.

 

Key frame interval sets the key frame for the video. The video is a series of still images that make up movement by updating the pixels between each still image. If the key frame interval is set to 10 seconds, then every 10 seconds, an entire new frame is sent. The longer the key frame, the greater the potential of an issue with the video. We recommend that the key frame interval not be adjusted unless there is a specific need to do so.

 

The resolutions available in HD mode are determined by the aspect ratio setting. These are either 4 to 3 or 16 to 9 and are the meeting settings in Adobe Connect. These ratios are accessed by selecting the meeting menu inside the meeting room and selecting Preferences and navigating to video.

Please be aware that publishing at HD rates requires that all participants have a good internet connection to receive the higher bandwidth. Users with poor connections may experience audio interruptions or jerky video reception. It is best to limit the number of cameras in HD mode to minimize negative effects.

 

Determining the settings in your Vantage Point pod ensure consistency across all meetings using the Vantage Point pod tool.

 

PDF download


 

Have more questions? Submit a request

2 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.